Reserved women seats lawmakers to take oath this afternoon

The Report Desk

Published: February 28, 2024, 12:14 PM

Reserved women seats lawmakers to take oath this afternoon

Representational Image. Bangladeshi Parliament

MPs elected to reserved women‍‍`s seats will take their oaths this afternoon.

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will administer the oath-taking ceremony at the oath chamber of the Jatiya Sangsad at 3:30 pm.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will be present at the ceremony, according to her official schedule.

The Parliament Secretariat has taken all preparations for the oath-taking ceremony, according to the sources in Parliament.

The Election Commission Secretariat announced the election of 50 MPs to reserved women‍‍`s seats for the 12th National Parliament on Tuesday. 

Among them, two are from Jatiya Party while the remaining are from Awami League and one from Ganotantri Party, a partner of the 14-party alliance.

According to sources in the Parliament Secretariat, the oath of Awami League MPs will be held first. After that, two members of Jatiya Party will take oath. 

The sworn-in MPs will attend today’s parliament session.

According to sources, the seat distribution has been finalised.

Link copied!