Commentator Tamim on Mushfiq‍‍`s dismissal

A batter playing over 80 Tests should be aware of obstructing the field

Sports Desk

Published: December 6, 2023, 03:39 PM

A batter playing over 80 Tests should be aware of obstructing the field

Photo Collage. BCB

Mushfiqur Rahim of Bangladesh became the country‍‍`s first batter to be disqualified for disrupting the field on the first day of the second Test against New Zealand in Dhaka today.

Tamim Iqbal, who is making his international commentary debut today, said that a player who has played over 80 Tests should have known better than to handle the ball.

Mushfiqur was batting on 35 when he took off a delivery that landed close to his feet. Even as the ball was moving away from the stumps, the batsman pushed it away with his gloves, causing the umpires to go upstairs to inspect for disrupting the field dismissal.

"A cricketer who has played over 80 Tests, should know he can‍‍`t do that," Tamim said in the commentary box.

Previously, ‍‍`handling the ball‍‍` was another reason of dismissal until a legislation reform in 2017 put it under blocking the field.

Seven batters have previously been dismissed for handling the ball, with England‍‍`s Michael Vaughan and Australia‍‍`s Steve Waugh being the most recent in 2001.

Mushfiqur has became the ninth batter to be dismissed for obstructing the field, following England‍‍`s Sir Len Hutton‍‍`s removal in 1951. However, in terms of ball handling, Mushfiqur is now the eighth batsman to be out in this way.

According to Tamim, net practice can occasionally build a negative habit of handling the ball.

"Practice habit can make this happen. In the nets, batters often take the ball in hand and return it back to the bowler. Maybe Mushfiqur did it unconsciously and extended his hands. But this obviously can‍‍`t be an excuse," Tamim further said in commentary.

Link copied!